Wakefield Hairdressers is Britain’s Most Sustainable Salon

Salon Owner Melenie Tudor (R) and Salon Manager Shannon Giblin (L)

En Route Hair and Beauty in Wakefield has been named Sustainable Salon of the Year at HJ’s British Hairdressing Business Awards 2023.

En Route Hair and Beauty beat competitors from across the UK to be selected as the winner in the fiercely contested category, which recognises salons that have implemented impactful eco-focused changes to their business. The judging panel – comprised of category sponsors and industry experts – praised En Route Hair and Beauty’s commitment to caring for the planet by making every aspect of their business more environmentally friendly.

Held on Monday 3rd July at London’s Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, HJ’s British Hairdressing Business Awards are an annual industry highlight, celebrating the people, brands and businesses that make British hairdressing so revered across the globe.

On receiving the coveted trophy, salon owner, Melenie Tudor said: ‘It feels absolutely amazing to win this award! We have worked really hard to make as many sustainable changes as we can in the salon and we will continue to spread the word wherever we can. We’re so proud of our team and what we have been able to achieve. To win an award for something you are so passionate about feels incredible.”

Jayne Lewis Orr, Executive Director of HJ’s British Hairdressing Business Awards said: ‘This year’s entries prove once again that the British hairdressing industry is brimming with passion and a desire to push boundaries and inspire others. Our finalists each displayed creative flair and business acumen, combined with a thirst for success and refusal to compromise on their ambitions. In winning this category En Route Hair and Beauty has demonstrated a true commitment to sustainability coupled with exceptional hair services that don’t compromise their eco beliefs. I’m delighted to see En Route Hair and Beauty’s hard work and dedication to sustainability recognised at this level.”

A total of 17 trophies were awarded at the event which was launched in 1999 and has previously honoured names including Trevor Sorbie, TONI&GUY, Sophia Hilton, Colin McAndrew and Casey Coleman.

Previous articleIntegra delivers wellbeing facilities for NHS staff in Southampton after Banksy artwork sale
Next articleFrom Yorkshire To Hollywood, Leeds Agency Flaunt Digital Collaborate On J. Lo AI Project For Virgin Voyages